12 GBN Grads Receive HOH Scholarships

12 GBN Grads Receive HOH Scholarships
Posted on 06/04/2019
2019 HOH Scholarship Winners

Twelve Glenbrook North High School graduates were awarded the Homer O. Harvey Scholarship in 2019, funded primarily through the HOH5K event held the first Saturday in May.

The winners will each receive a $1,000 scholarship toward second semester college tuition. Scholarships are awarded to outstanding high school students who are graduates of District 28. The awards were presented at GBN’s annual awards ceremony held May 24 at the school.

This year’s scholarships were awarded to Gemma Abbott, Madeline Bayzaee, Ryan Cohn, Lucas Deutsch, Joseph Gertner, Nicole Helinski, John Karteczka, Erin Rosenfeld, Ilana Silver, Nora Smith, Madeline Guest and Samantha Stoneburner.


The scholarship fund was established in 1989 and is supported through the District 28 PTO Council. Dr. Homer O. Harvey was a longtime the superintendent of District 28 and dedicated his professional career to providing high standards of excellence and learning for our children. His family continues to be involved with the scholarship selection committee. The annual HOH5K is the top-fundraiser for the event and is held on the first Saturday in May. This year, the event raised nearly $10,000.

Since 1989 $318,500 has been awarded to 354 Northbrook Junior High and Glenbrook High School graduates.


HOH scholarship winners 2019

Glenbrook North students who received the HOH Scholarship in 2019 are, front row, from left, Nora Smith, Gemma Abbott, Madeline Bayzaee. Back row, from left, is  Ilana Silver, Madeline Guest, Ryan Cohen, John Karteczka, joined by Brendan Harvey, Homer O. Harvey’s grandson. Recipients not pictured are: Lucas Deutsch, Joseph Gertner, Nicole Helinski,  Erin Rosenfeld, and Samantha Stoneburner.