Board of Education

Board of Education with Dr. Hewitt
The Board of Education includes:
Front row, from left, Tony Forchetti, Vice President; Tracy Katz Muhl, President, and Superintendent Dr. Larry Hewitt.
Back row, from left, is Carol Currie, Lou Gross, Jennifer Gallinson, Michael Gilmore and Michelle Kohler.

Board of Education Meetings

meeting gavelRegularly scheduled board meetings are at 7:00 pm on the last Tuesday of each month (view full schedule and exceptions). Unless otherwise indicated, the Board will meet in the Dr. Homer O. Harvey Community Room adjacent to Northbrook Junior High School, 1475 Maple Avenue.

Committee Meetings

The Board of Education also has committee meetings, which are work sessions usually regarding only a single topic. By Illinois law, the Board may not take official action at committee meetings. However, the public is always welcome to attend. These committee meetings often occur on the second Tuesday of the month at the usual time and place for Board Meetings. If there is a meeting, the agenda will be posted as required by law.


The most common board actions include approval of policies for the operation of the schools, employment of staff, adopting and monitoring the annual budget, adopting the annual tax levy, authorizing curriculum development, and providing general direction.

Board Briefs

The "Board Briefs" is an overview of the meeting's main topics and is published after each meeting.
Access an archive of Board Briefs.

Sign up to receive the E-news version of Board Briefs and other District News.


Agendas are available 48 hours prior to meetings.
View All


Minutes from regular meetings will be posted after they have been approved.
View All